Standard vs Non-Standard decks

There has been some discussion about “Standard” decks (I guess this means shooting/shootout decks) vs. “Non-Standard” decks (I’m not exactly sure what these are - landslide?). A lot experienced and talented players seem to be of the opinion that standard shooting decks aren’t very competitive and instead favor non-standard decks. I’m new to Doomtown and have a very basic understanding of strategy, but hearing top players talk about this saddens me a bit. One of the reasons that I abandoned Netrunner is that at the competitive level, the decks were not fun and circumvented the basic ideas/premises of the game. These competitive decks were often referred to as Notrunner. I was attracted to Doomtown for many reasons, but one of these reasons is that I like the shootout mechanic. Reading that good players might tend to avoid this aspect of the game is somewhat disheartening. Thoughts? Maybe I’m misunderstanding the discussion.

The basis of the game is “have more cp than your opponent has influence.”

While shootouts are definitely the fun way to accomplish the goal, they arent the most direct. Landslide spams cp on the table quickly to make it hard to overcome. Control limits your options to where they cant take enough of your cp, or cant respond to a cp builder like nicodemus whateley.

Most ot the time, this game relies on shootouts that are well timed to exclude some of your opponents dudes when necessary. This also means you might never see the fight between the two biggest dudes on the table.

Vimes,
Although the concerns you raise are valid, the release of Blood Moon introduces two homes specifically (Morgan Regulators and Protection Racket) that will be very strong against the Dudes and Deeds (“Slide”) strategy. This may very well impact the field by producing very tough match-ups for Slide enough to deter folks from playing it competitively.

Hope that helps.