From Rules Team:
Attachment via card effect can be to anyone (so General Store can stick a goods onto any dude, anywhere, even if they're booted, including gadgets). This applies to Maggie job.
You still need to invent a gadget, but any mad scientist could do so, at any location.
-From the Maggie Harris & Gadget Horses post
Dude • Draw 1 • Influence 1 • Cost 3 • Upkeep 1
Mad Scientist 2
Noon, Boot: Play a Ranch or Out of Town deed (as Shoppin'), or invent a Gadget. Reduce the cost by William's Mad Scientist skill.
Does William Specks allow you to play a gadget onto a non mad scientist dude, anywhere, similar to General Store?