Hand strength restructure

I apologize if this isn’t the right section of the forums. I’m new to this type of thing.

For a long time, I’ve thought about different ideas to tweak things from a design perspective and one of those ideas happen to be the strength of the hands. I understand that the game is designed around actual poker hands and it wants to stay true to that for flavor.

However, in real poker, the strength of hands are determined by the odds of being able to make such hands. For example, the odds of making a full house is much less than say a straight or a 3 of a kind, which is why the full house is ranked much higher.

In Doomtown though, I would argue that is not such the case because of how this game is designed. I also understand that there are “cheating” possibilities, cheating punishment cards, and that is also the design and a flavor of the game.

In a perfectly balanced game, this might not matter, but in the real world, it limits the deck designs and make flush and straight decks almost useless. When every shootout is either full house or 4 of a kind, cheating or legal, the poker aspect becomes bland and less fun: most decks focus on 3 values for full house and 4s.

What I’d like to propose, or at least bring up for argument is that we either change the hand strength in Doomtown to make more sense or change the limit on how many values of each suit can be in a deck to manipulate the odds. For example, up to 10 cards of each valve max.

What do you guys think about this in general? Are there better alternatives or suggestions?

Cheers,

1 Like

Comin’ Up Roses proves that there are cards that fill the space for this problem. You don’t throw the baby out with the bathwater.

1 Like

I think that Cheatin’ punishment and lowball already does a lot to balance hand ranks.
You basically have 3 types of decks: