Consider the following situation:
- A dude (such as Maggie Harris) runs a job using an ability printed on their card
- That dude gets discarded or aced during the job
- The remaining dudes in the posse defeat the opposing posse, meaning the job succeeds, despite the absence of the previously mentioned dude
Do the "if successful" effects of the job still trigger (in Maggie's case, you search for a Horse in your discard pile and attach it)?
And if yes, what do we do if the dude is discarded and got shuffled in the deck and now we don't remember the exact wording of the effect?
This situation could also happen with a deed that triggers a job if the deed is no longer in play, such as Cochise County Courthouse being targeted by Lighting the Fuse.
(The relevant part of the Rulebook is Section 6.2, Step 5, but it doesn't mention anything about whether or not the dude with the job ability needs to still be in play).