Magical Samurai to Cosmic Cowboy: Bridging the Gap from Legend of the Five Rings to Doomtown: Reloaded

Bridging the Gap from Legend of the Five Rings to Doomtown: Reloaded

by David Lapp

“What about Doomtown appeals to you, as an L5R player?”

Welcome, Samurai of Rokugan! Bayushi Jinn-Ja here. The Gazette approached me about answering the above question, as one of the many players who crossed over from L5R to Doomtown. This article focuses on explaining Doomtown: Reloaded to L5R players by presenting the game as something you may enjoy while awaiting L5R’s reboot in 2017.

To give a brief history, I learned L5R many years ago, after buying a Toturi’s Army deck. I later built a Ratling deck out of Crab. At the time, there were only 4 options for those little guys. My dedication to Scorpion began in Diamond and I started playing in tournaments in Lotus. Community involvement for me really started with Celestial, and I’ve been attached in a way that no other game has come close to ever since. Until Doomtown: Reloaded.

Backtracking to the late 90s, I’ve always loved Deadlands, an RPG setting that encompasses Doomtown, which was a short-lived CCG that held my interest prior to getting into L5R. For other classic players’ references, my favorite was Sioux straight flush degenerators. I also built super units, trying to win via Curses and influence reducers. Second was Blackjacks, which could be compared to Mantis Kalani’s Landing in L5r. While my fave Deadlands outfit was the Coalition, I only built that deck for the theme. For Reloaded, I love both Oddities of Nature and Sloane Gang; albeit the ‘control town square’ lacks an L5R analog.

So in a way I find myself asking, “what about L5R appeals to you, as a Doomtown player?” Both answers can be broken down to three similarities: Story, Community, and Mechanics.