So, I have a few questions here, the answers of which may be obvious, but I figured I'd ask in case there have been any official rulings made.
Firstly, Election Day Slaughter aces one dude in the town square if it succeeds. But then won't the opposing player oppose the job either way, even if it's just that one dude in town. I mean, they either get aced when the job succeeds, or they get aced in the ensuing shootout. If they then run home, their posse is safe. So, it forces a shootout, but seems very rare that it'd ever actually ace someone. On a similar vein, if you perform a job that aces a specific dude if it succeeds (such as Mason Adler's ability), and they oppose it and then get discarded, are they then aced instead? The job has succeeded after all? I'd assume, though, that the dude who got discarded is no longer a valid target since they're discarded?
On Mason Adler, my question originally seemed obvious, but now I'm not sure. Originally in multiplayer games, I was going to ask if he had to be opposing the highest grit dude out of all opposing players in order to gain the stud bonus. I assumed it would be the case. However, I then saw your comment of:
"During a shootout "opposing dude" is just a dude opposing belonging to the other players in the shootout, not outside of the shootout."
So, I assume that if in the shootout the highest grit among that player's dudes is present, then you get the stud bonus? However, his job ability would apply to all opponents?
Finally, does Adler's Needle still get the control point bonus if the targeted dude joins the posse, but is subsequently forced to leave the posse? It says "if that dude does not join", so I figured it'd apply to that first choice to join or not, leaving later wouldn't have any impact?