This'll (maybe) Hurt In The Mornin'

Let’s talk about cheatin’ punishment. We’ve all had the situation where This’ll Hurt in the Mornin was played, and either the cheatin’ player got the same rank, or maybe even higher! Or maybe you Bottom Dealt an opponent a 4 of a kind. It feels like you’ve been cheated when this happens. When it happens to me and I benefit, I feel dirty if I end up winning the game. But just how likely is that to happen? Are those feelings justified? In a recent conversation with @inverted about various forms of cheatin’ punishment, I wondered just how potentially bad This’ll Hurt and Bottom Dealin can be, and decided to run the full odds. I’d like to share my results with you guys now, along with some additional thoughts on other cheatin’ punishments along the way.

-disclaimer and credit-
I love probability in general, but I am far from an expert. I used an online hypergeometric calculator for these odds, along with some manual calculations, and I would love for someone else to check all of my numbers to make sure I’m right. I sent an example of one situation to @AdmiralGT, who was kind enough to double check and verify my work was correct, so big thanks to him for making sure I was on the right track! The rest of my math uses the same type of setup as the one example I sent to AdmiralGT, so in theory everything should be accurate, but again I’d love this to be double checked in it’s entirety.

Also, these are very generalized odds, and of course it will depend upon what has been played, aced, discarded, etc. This is just meant to be a very rough calculator on the odds of various situations. These numbers are also rounded, and when multiple rounded numbers are used for further calculations, they can be further impacted. Safe to say, however, that these should all be accurate with 1-2%, which is just fine for our purposes!
-/disclaimer-