Cirilo Naucriparos Passive Ability on Mercenaries + "The Don's" Reaction

lonki — 11/19/2022 1:21 PM Okey, so new cards question:Cirilo Naucriparos: If Don make a mercenary loses a brute given by Cirilo, Does Cirilo overwrite it, and gain it brute again?
Corrin — 11/19/2022 1:39 PM No, this got discussed at some pint, Don’s ability works during the window, and saves them, then they become a brute again after the window. Maybe it would help with this confusion to reword the ability: Reaction: A the beginning of Dusk • Target character at Constanzo’s location loses brute until the end of the round.
lonki — 11/19/2022 1:55 PM ohh yeah forget every effect only last until end of the Turn.Still Cirilo overwrite Don ability during end of dawn? so even Don cannot save the mercenary.
Agent006 — 11/19/2022 2:06 PM No, see above text for a brute and the the text for the Don. Don removes Brute during the window 3. End of Dusk. By this time step B has happened and all characters should be home. Its not a brute during step 4. End of the Day and doesnt get discarded. Cirilo’s passive I believe would reapply after the end of the day for any Mercs you removed brute from. What might need some clearing up is the time of Cirilo’s passive ability.
Like, we know Cirilo’s passive is constant, but when does it reapply? Once the reaction effect from the Don expires? I believe yes.
lonki — 11/19/2022 2:09 PM “Cirilo’s passive I believe would reapply after the end of the day for any Mercs you removed brute from.”- Yeah that is what would makes sense, but definitly this is not suggested by card rules/texts. I believe, I got common sense, just right now the most important things is cards/rules as clear mechanics as possible.
Agent006 — 11/19/2022 2:10 PM agree
lonki — 11/19/2022 2:10 PM That is why I make stupid question
Agent006 — 11/19/2022 2:10 PM questions are not stupid, not even the repetitive ones.
Alazilla — 11/19/2022 2:12 PM That is a good call, though. With Cirilo’s ability as-written, it would mean that any Mercs you have in play will always have Brute at the start of the day, even if that Brute keyword were removed by the Don at end of Dusk of the previous day.
CroyLCM — 11/19/2022 2:12 PM Any effect, if a duration is not stated, ends end of day. Meaning this is correct.
CroyLCM — 11/19/2022 2:12 PM
Agent006 — 11/19/2022 2:13 PM
Pretty sure that’s intentional. Having Cirilo out carries a huge penalty if you have tons of mercs out
lonki — 11/19/2022 2:14 PM That is not what i meant: I meant the mercenary going discard any possible way, even when Don try to save them. They dont go next turn as a brute
Alazilla — 11/19/2022 2:16 PM No, you’re correct. It is pretty fuzzy in that regard. Like, if the Don’s ability at end of dusk removes Brute, Cirilo’s would just re-add it immediately.
lonki — 11/19/2022 2:16 PM TLDR: Don ability dont work on mercs they just die
Agent006 — 11/19/2022 2:18 PM Cirilo grants Brute to all mercenaries under your control. Don removes brute from a character.
lonki — 11/19/2022 2:19 PM I meant by text. sorry If we try to resolve by text and rules Don abilites technicly dont do anythnig on brute mercs.
CroyLCM — 11/19/2022 2:20 PM Cirilo makes mercs brutes. Don makes a brute lose brutes until end of day.
Don’s ability ends after end of day. You have already passed end of day brute discard.Top of next day. All mercs are brutes and you discarded no one.

Answered in Discord:Discord