Is the "Gadget X" keyword the same as "Gadget • Difficulty X"?

Hell’s Comin’ With Me introduced three gadgets QUATERMAN PRIME, Iron Mole and Net Gun. They all have the Gadget X keyword (e.g. Gadget 6).

Is this the same as the Gadget • Difficulty X keywords? Or do they mean something else?

Yes. Gadget 6 & Gadget • Difficulty 6 are the same.
A templating change was done to bring Gagets in line with the wording on Spells.

Gadget X was chosen to signify the pull because:
Gadgets have to be invented by a Mad Scientist by default.
Having Mad Science X on that section of a card imbues the skill itself.