Lighting the Fuse on their 3rd+ Deed

Lighting the Fuse removes a deed from the board. Here is the text:

Return a deed owned by the cheatin’ player to their hand. If played during lowball, the cheatin’ player may instead boot two of their dudes, moving them to that deed (if they are not already there).

If there are two locations on either side of the street that are/were adjacent to the blown up deed, do they sort of “shift together” to create a new adjacency between them? Or does the explosion leave a sort of “hole” that maintains previous adjacencies without creating new ones?

(Same question goes for Plasma Drill)

From the updated rules v 1.2 p. 5:

Move the locations that were adjacent to that deed together so that they are adjacent, closing the gap created by the deed leaving play.