Ol' Howard and Monte Bank

The rulebook says Goods are usually attached to Dudes. The rules also say Goods that can attach to Deeds specify on the card that they can do so. Does this imply the principle that Goods that might attach to non-Dude, non-Deed cards would also specify that they have that ability in their text? Or can Goods attach to non-Dude, non-Deed cards under a general “if there’s no rule against it, you can do it” principle?

Can Monte Bank be attached to Ol’ Howard after Ol’ Howard uses his ability to attach to a deed? Ol’ Howard is obviously not a dude, so what exactly is his card? Does the card become, in game terms, more text on a deed, and therefore a deed himself? (Therefore he cannot be equipped with Monte Bank?) If Ol’ Howard is considered “more text on a deed” does the Deed inherit the Grifter and Abomination keywords? Or does Ol’ Howard become some other non-Dude, non-Deed, Third Thing?

If Ol’ Howard is considered a separate card from Monte Bank, (and can be equipped with Monte Bank) does the income from Monte Bank modify Ol’ Howard, or does the income modify the Deed Ol’ Howard modifies? (Which can’t be modified, and therefore Monte Bank would provide no income)


Seen and under review by RT!

They cannot. There’s no such principle like that in Doomtown.

To your other question, Monte Bank cannot be attached to Ol’ Howard after Ol’ Howard attaches to a deed. At that point, Ol’ Howard is no longer a dude, and permanently becomes a Condition while Ol’ Howard remains in play. This does mean that other cards that interact with cards attached to locations (Idol of Tlazolteotl,or All or Nothing for example), or Conditions, can interact with Ol’ Howard. Lastly, Ol’ Howard retains whatever keywords he has: Grifter, and Abomination.

For the future, I’d encourage breaking up the questions that you have into multiple posts. While I encourage and welcome your questions, it’s easier to track questions and responses that way. :slight_smile:

1 Like