Quaterman + Raking Dragons (sentences with "and")

When we resolve the effects of the card we are doing it sentence by sentence. My question is, if in one sentence two different effects are applied and they are connected by “and” and one of them is not legal does second effect apply or entire sentence is ommited?
Example: Raking Dragons says: Shootout Tao Technique: If successful, choose a dude. Boot that dude and give them -2 value.
I try to cast this ability on Quaterman, I cannot legaly boot it, so does QM receive -2 modifier to value or it doesn’t because there is an “and” betweeen effects?

The second line isn’t part of the requirement clause, so “and” statements can still fire off on the quaterman. The boot half won’t work, but you can still reduce his value.

Short and sweet. Locked.