I appreciate the recent ruling on Larry "Sevens" Swift, found here:
But I believe it conflicts with a previous ruling on Thunder Boy and A Slight Modification, found here:
If we currently have rules that say we generally resolve cards sentence by sentence, and we also say that card text overrides rules, would it make more sense on the ASM ruling that Thunder Boy should not be able to use his ability again after being Slightly Modified, as his ability has technically been used already? Before you use Thunder Boy, the very last sentence "can only be used once per shootout" is always checked, right?
If we say something like "generally cards are resolved line by line, but not to the complete exclusion of any sentences before or after - text on cards always takes precedence over general rules" does that fit within existing rules? If so, I think it makes the Thunder Boy + ASM (or similar combinations) much more straight forward, as you simply check whether or not it was used, regardless if it was used normally, or "used" via ASM.